book review

Review: The Fall of Five (Lorien Legacies #4)

The Fall of Five by Pittacus Lore

The Fall of Five

The Garde are finally reunited, but do they have what it takes to win the war against the Mogadorians?

John Smith—Number Four—thought that things would change once the Garde found each other. They would stop running. They would fight the Mogadorians. And they would win.

But he was wrong. After facing off with the Mogadorian ruler and almost being annihilated, the Garde know they are drastically unprepared and hopelessly outgunned. Now they’re hiding out in Nine’s Chicago penthouse, trying to figure out their next move.

The six of them are powerful, but they’re not strong enough yet to take on an entire army—even with the return of an old ally. To defeat their enemy, the Garde must master their Legacies and learn to work together as a team. More importantly, they’ll have to discover the truth about the Elders and their plan for the Loric survivors.

And when the Garde receive a sign from Number Five—a crop circle in the shape of a Loric symbol—they know they are so close to being reunited. But could it be a trap? Time is running out, and the only thing they know for certain is that they have to get to Five before it’s too late.

The Garde may have lost battles, but they will not lose this war.

Lorien will rise again.

Warning: There may be spoilers for the first books in the series in the first paragraph of the plot section.

The Fall of Five is the fourth book in the Lorien Legacies series by Pittacus Lore.

I didn’t find The Rise of Nine, the third book in the series, quite as exciting as the first two books in the series, so my expectations were lowered a little for this book. However, I thought that The Fall of Five was amazing. So much happened in this book, and I found I couldn’t put it down at all. There were new characters, plot twists, battles and more plot twists as the story went ahead and I loved it.


When I first looked at the cover, I had no idea what was going on in it. Looking at it now, I’m still now completely sure but I’m guessing that the symbol on the front is the Loric symbol for number five. It also looks a little like a manhole in the middle of a street, but I’m not sure that I’m really meant to be getting that vibe. Anyway, I quite like it and it’s a nice addition to the series.


In this book, the majority of the Garde are together and the only one missing is Five. They’re all hanging out at Nine’s apartment in Chicago to train and learn to work together. Also in the apartment is Sarah, who is now part of the gang. Meanwhile, Sam is still imprisoned by the Mogadorians until someone comes to rescue him. That is pretty much the set up for this book.

The action never stops in this book. Even if things seem quiet, they never are for long. It’s very gripping and exciting, and there are plenty of twists and turns to keep the story moving. Also, there is plenty of romance and heartbreak in this book to satisfy anyone who wants more on the relationships between characters. Some parts of this book made me want to hug, others made me want to chuck it at the wall (except it’s on my nook and that would be a bad idea).


There are quite a few characters in this series and a lot of them have pretty much become main characters in the series. John, or Four, is still the leader of the group and is an interesting character. He has his flaws and feels that he isn’t able to lead the group, but he also has his strengths and character development. This book shows more of his relationship with Sarah as well. Speaking of Sarah, she’s pretty badass. I wasn’t her biggest fan back at the start of the series, but she’s grown and matured over time and is now part of the ‘gang’ as much as any of the others.

Another character who keeps getting more awesome is Sam. I love Sam. He’s been though a lot, and yet he’s still ready to help out his friends and help them save the world. He’s pretty amazing. And his thing with Six is adorable. They both obviously want to be with each other, but they know it’s risky and that there’s a war going on. It’s very frustrating. Six herself is badass as always, whatever she’s doing.

The other two characters that I will mention are Marina and Eight or, as my friends and I call them, Fifteen. They’re perfect and adorable and I will never stop loving the two of them.

The Little Things

I loved the relationships in this book, as you may have noticed, and Marina and Eight were easily my favourites.

There were lots of group scenes in the book which I loved. There were really nice training scenes in the book, especially the capture the flag scene, where everybody was involved.

The title is brilliant yet heartbreaking. I love it.

One thing that did confuse me was the change of perspectives all the time. Once I figured out who was ‘talking’ in each chapter, I enjoyed the book a lot. Also, going back to the capture the flag scene, there was a lot of PoV switching and it was quite confusing.

This book was perfect and a brilliant addition to the series, although there were some tear-jerking, heartbreaking scenes. I’d definitely recommend it to anyone who likes aliens, awesome battle scenes, and really cute relationships.


3 thoughts on “Review: The Fall of Five (Lorien Legacies #4)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s